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WELCOME ABOARD!
 Massachusetts offers a wonderfully diverse spectrum of  
boating opportunities to residents and visitors alike. With nearly 
1,500 miles of coastline, four major river systems, hundreds of 
lakes and ponds, as well as the beautiful Quabbin Reservoir, 
if it has to do with recreational boating, you can find it in 
Massachusetts.

 To really enjoy a safe and relaxing day on the water, vessel operators and 
passengers must know the “rules of the road,” equipment requirements, safe fueling 
practices, and other basic safe boating practices. These topics and many others are 
covered in this guide. We encourage you to familiarize yourself with it and keep it on 
board your boat for ready reference.
  
 The Massachusetts Environmental Police (MEP) is the Commonwealth’s 
primary marine enforcement agency, ensuring boater compliance with boating 
laws and regulations. Environmental Police Officers are involved heavily in boat 
accident investigations as well as boat thefts. Additionally, we provide boaters with 
boating safety courses that are state and nationally approved and geared to both 
youth and novice boaters of all ages. Taking a course as a family is fun and has 
proven to be very rewarding. We also encourage you to take advantage of other 
educational opportunities that are available. Working in partnership with volunteer 
organizations and private enterprise, we strive to make boating a safer and more 
enjoyable experience for all. Contact us for a schedule of courses offered in your area at 
508-564-4961 or www.mass.gov/ole.
 
 Boating is an activity that provides a lifetime of pleasure and learning 
opportunities. No matter how many years you have spent on the water, each time 
underway presents its own unique challenges and conditions. We hope this guide assists 
you in meeting those challenges safely.  

Massachusetts Environmental Police

And always:

Boat Smart From the Start 
WEAR YOUR LIFE JACKET!!
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NOTE: The information in this handbook is intended to be used only as a summary of 
the boating laws and regulations in Massachusetts. The language in this handbook does 
not replace the language of the actual boating laws and regulations as they are presented in 
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Regulations.
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Before going out on the water, take steps to make the outing 
safe and enjoyable.

Vessel Length Classes
 ■ A vessel’s length class determines the equipment necessary to 

comply with federal and state laws.
 ■ Vessels are divided into length classes:

• Less than 16 feet   (Class A)
• 16 feet to less than 26 feet (Class 1)
• 26 feet to less than 40 feet (Class 2)
• 40 feet to less than 65 feet (Class 3)

 ■ Length is measured from the tip of the bow in a straight 
line to the stern. This does not include outboard motors, 
brackets, rudders, bow attachments, or swim platforms and 
ladders that are not a molded part of the hull.

Before Going Out
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Vessel Capacity
 ■ Always check the 

capacity plate to 
make sure you don’t 
swamp or capsize 
your vessel. This 
plate is usually 
found near the oper-
ator’s position or on 
the vessel’s transom. 
It indicates the maximum weight capacity and maximum 
number of people that the vessel can carry safely. It also 
indicates the maximum horsepower. 

 ■ Capacity plates are required on single-hull vessels that are 
less than 20 feet in length.

 ■ Personal watercraft (PWCs) and some other vessels are not 
required to have a capacity plate. Always follow the recom-
mended capacity in the owner’s manual and on the manu-
facturer’s warning decal. 

 ■ Verbatim statute regarding overloading: Vessel capacity 
is regulated as per Section 323, CMR2.07(7). No vessel 
may be operated in an overloaded condition. Overloaded 
condition means that the number of persons on board and/
or the cargo being carried exceeds the manufacturer’s recom-
mended limit for such vessel or is excessive given windy 
water and weather conditions.

MAXIMUM CAPACITIES

THIS BOAT COMPLIES WITH U.S. COAST GUARD 
SAFETY STANDARDS IN EFFECT ON THE DATE 

OF CERTIFICATION
ABC  BOATS 

XYZ MANUFACTURING, INC.  
ANYWHERE, USA   99999

7 PERSONS OR 1050 LBS.
1400 LBS. PERSONS, MOTORS, GEAR
130 H. P. MOTOR

Remember…
Overloading your boat can lead to capsizing.  
Capsizing means that you could wind up in the water!
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Fueling a Vessel
Never fuel at night unless it is an emergency. If you must refuel 
after dark, use only electric lights. Try to refuel away from the 
water or on a commercial fueling ramp. 

 ■ Before beginning to fuel:
• Dock the boat securely and ask all passengers to exit.
• Do not allow anyone to smoke or strike a match.
• Check all fuel lines, connections, and fuel vents. 
• Turn off anything that might cause a spark—engines, fans, 

or electrical equipment.
• Shut off all fuel valves and extinguish all open flames, such 

as galley stoves and pilot lights.
• Close all windows, ports, doors, and other openings to 

prevent fumes from entering the boat.
• Remove portable fuel tanks and fill them on the dock.

 ■ While filling the fuel tank:
• Keep the nozzle of the fuel-pump hose in contact with the 

tank opening to prevent producing a static spark.
• Avoid spilling fuel into the boat’s bilge or the water. 
• Never fill a tank to the brim—leave room to expand.

 ■ After fueling:
• Wipe up any spilled fuel.
• Open all windows, ports, doors, and other openings.

 ■ Each pump or other dispensing device used to provide 
motor fuel for motorboats shall be equipped with an 
automatic shut-off nozzle that shall not be capable of being 
locked into an open position. Any violation of this shall be 
punishable by a fine of not more than $500.

The most important safe fueling practice…
If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes after fueling and before 
starting your engine to remove gas vapors in the bilge.
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Additional Safety Procedures for PWCs
 ■ Do not tip the PWC in order to fill it all the way up. If the 

tank is overfilled, the fuel may expand and spill into the 
water.

 ■ After fueling, open 
the door of the 
engine compart-
ment and sniff 
to check for any 
evidence of gas 
fumes. Do this 
before starting the 
engine. If you do 
smell gas fumes, 
determine the 
source and make 
repairs immediately.

Fuel Selector Switch on a PWC
This switch can help you avoid 
becoming stranded without fuel. 

 ■ Use the “Off” position when 
the PWC’s engine is turned off.

 ■ Use the “On” position while 
you are underway.

 ■ Use the “Reserve” position 
if you run out of fuel while 
underway. This will allow you 
to return to shore. Don’t forget to switch back to “On” after 
refueling.
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Filing a Float Plan
Before going out on a vessel, it is always a good idea to leave 
a float plan with a relative or friend, or at least with a local 
marina. A float plan should: 

 ■ Describe the vessel, including its registration number, 
length, make, horsepower, and engine type.

 ■ State where you are going, the detailed route, your planned 
departure time, and your expected return time.

 ■ Give the name, address, and telephone number of each 
person on board and an emergency contact.

 ■ Float plan forms are available online at www.mass.gov/ole.

Pre-Departure Checklist
You can help assure a good time while operating your vessel 
by performing this pre-departure check.

 ✓ Check the weather forecast for the area and timeframe 
during which you will be boating.

 ✓ Make sure that the steering and throttle controls operate 
properly and all lights are working properly.

 ✓ Check for any fuel leaks from the tank, fuel lines, and 
carburetor.

 ✓ Check the engine compartment for oil leaks.
 ✓ Check hose connections for leaks or cracks, and make sure 
hose clamps are tight. 

 ✓ Drain all water from the engine compartment, and be sure 
the bilge plug is replaced and secure.

 ✓ Check to be sure you have a fully charged engine battery 
and fire extinguishers. 

 ✓ If so equipped, make sure the engine cut-off switch and 
wrist lanyard are in good order.

 ✓ Make sure you have the required number of personal 
flotation devices (PFDs), and check that they are in good 
condition.

 ✓ Leave a float plan with a reliable friend or relative.
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Boat Theft Prevention
Keep in mind three factors that discourage thieves everywhere—
time, noise, and visibility. 

Taking Crime Prevention Measures
 ■ Always remove the key from the ignition when not in use. 
 ■ Store your vessel so that it is not easily accessed. 

• Secure the boat itself to a fixed object using a steel cable or 
chain with a heavy-duty lock. Don’t leave valuable items in 
an unattended boat.

• If it’s a trailered boat, attach a quality trailer hitch lock; and 
if it’s to be parked for a long time, remove a wheel.

• If you store your boat at home, keep it either in a locked 
garage or in a fenced-in, locked back yard. 

• If you live in an apartment building, use an antitheft device 
on your vessel if it’s stored in the parking lot. Never leave 
your vessel out with a “FOR SALE” sign on it; others may 
see the thief but assume he’s just bought it.

• If you keep the boat in the water at a marina, use a marina 
with full-time security and good lighting. 

 ■ Install an alarm (preferably a combination burglar/fire alarm) 
wired to the ignition. Have a second, hidden switch in case 
the thief jumps the first one.

 ■ Avoid leaving loose gear visible. Keep radios, TV sets, and 
other items of value out of sight through windows.

 ■ Pick one hold or locker, and secure it. Beef up the door, and 
install a deadbolt lock or a strong hasp and padlock. Keep 
your valuables in the locked compartment when you’re not 
on board.

 ■ Title and register your vessel.

Avoiding Cabin Entry
 ■ Replace spring-latch locking assemblies with deadbolts.
 ■ Install lugs in the hinge plates to prevent opening the door 

by removing the hinge pins.
 ■ Close or cover any gaps that could allow prying.
 ■ Lay wooden dowels in the tracks of sliding windows.
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 ■ Add a high-impact polycarbonate backup piece and solid 
brass hasp to make the forward hatch more difficult to open 
from the outside.

 ■ Install an alarm system with magnetic or pressure switches 
on doors, windows, hatches, and holds to activate the alarm. 
Also include pressure mats at entrance points and in front of 
the operating console.

Identifying Your Belongings
 ■ Make a complete inventory with full descriptions of your 

boat, trailer, and marine equipment, including manufac-
turer’s model and serial numbers; and keep the inventory list 
at home. Hide a second list somewhere on the vessel. This 
information will prove invaluable when reporting a loss to law 
enforcement authorities and insurance companies. 

 ■ Do not leave registration and title papers on the vessel.
 ■ Inscribe electronic instruments, communication gear, and 

other valuables with your driver’s license number and state. 
This allows identification of your belongings by law enforce-
ment computer networks. Prominently display the Operation 
Identification sticker so that the thief will know you’re serious 
about crime prevention.

 ■ Mark deck chairs, flotation gear, and other loose items with 
the name of your boat, your home port, and your name.

 ■ Photograph or videotape the interior and exterior of your 
vessel, showing all installed equipment and additional gear 
and equipment.

Using Caution When Buying a Vessel
 ■ Be careful when buying a used vessel—it could be stolen. 

Verify all identification numbers to make sure they haven’t 
been tampered with. Be certain that the boat’s description on 
the title matches the boat you are buying. 
• Check year, make, length, and the hull identification 

number (HIN). Do not buy a boat if the HIN has been 
altered or removed. 
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• Do not buy a boat that is registered as “homemade” but is 
obviously a manufactured model. 

• Do not buy an outboard motor if the model and serial 
number plates have been removed. 

• Be suspicious of a fresh paint job on a late-model boat.
• Don’t forget that if the price seems too good to be true, 

there is a good chance that the vessel is stolen. 
 ■ Don’t purchase a boat with a dubious pedigree. 

• Before buying, be certain the seller can provide you with 
current registration, a bill of sale, and title. 

• Compare the registration information against the actual 
boat. If the HIN and description don’t match, leave it. 
Failure to obtain all necessary paperwork will likely result 
in your not being able to register the purchase. 

• If you suspect the attempted sale of a stolen boat, imme-
diately contact the environmental police and state or local 
police.

Reporting Marine Theft
 ■ Immediately report any possible theft to your local law 

enforcement agency, the state environmental police, and 
your insurance company. 

 ■ Upon reporting such theft to the environmental police, 
your boat will be deleted from the registration database, 
preventing re-registration by another party.

To report a stolen vessel, call the MA Environmental Police 
Radio Communication Center at 800-632-8075.
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Trailering Your Vessel Safely
 ■ Before leaving home:

• Secure all gear in the vessel, and arrange it so that the 
weight is evenly distributed in the vessel.

• Properly secure the vessel with several tie-down straps and/
or safety lines to prevent it from shifting. 

• Tilt and secure the engine to 
increase clearance. 

• Crisscross the safety chains 
when attaching them to the 
towing vehicle.

• Make sure the trailer brakes 
and lights are working.

 ■ On the road:
• Think farther ahead on the road than usual. Anticipate 

changes in traffic flow in advance, make wider turns at 
corners and curves, allow extra time and distance for 
stopping and for passing other vehicles, and remember the 
length added by your trailer. 

• Be aware that there may be lower speed limits for vehicles 
with trailers.

 ■ Launching your vessel from a trailer:
• Prepare your vessel well away from the boat ramp. 
• Back the vessel into the water until the lower unit of the 

engine can be submerged while on the trailer. 
• Once the engine is warmed up, back the trailer further 

until the vessel floats. Then back slowly off the trailer.
 ■ Retrieving your vessel:

• Back the trailer into the water so that approximately two-
thirds of the rollers or bunks are submerged.

• Move the vessel onto the trailer far enough to attach the 
winch line to the bow eye of the vessel. Finish pulling it 
onto the trailer by cranking the winch.  

• Tow the vessel off the ramp out of the way of others.
• While at the ramp area, remove all weeds from the vessel, 

remove the drain plug, and drain live wells. 
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 ■ Practice these simple courtesies on the ramp:
• Prepare your vessel for launching well away from the ramp.
• Use at least two experienced people to launch and retrieve 

the vessel—one to drive the towing vehicle and one to 
operate the vessel.

• Never block a ramp with an unattended vessel or vehicle. 
The vessel operator should move the vessel away from the 
launch lane immediately after removing it from the trailer. 
Return briefly to pick up the vehicle driver once he or she 
has parked and is at the ramp.

• When retrieving, do not pull your vessel into a launch lane 
until the towing vehicle is at the ramp. The line is formed 
by vehicles with trailers, not by vessels in the water. Drop 
off the vehicle driver, and wait offshore and clear of the 
ramp until he or she arrives with the trailer.

• After retrieving your vessel from the water, pull it out well 
away from the ramp before preparing the vessel for the 
drive home.



Safe navigation on Massachusetts waterways is everyone’s 
responsibility. All operators are equally responsible for taking 
action necessary to avoid collisions.

Encountering Other Vessels
Even though no vessel has the “right-of-way” over another 
vessel, there are some rules that every operator should follow 
when encountering other vessels. It is the responsibility of 
both operators to take the action needed to avoid a collision. 
The next page shows what to do when encountering another 
vessel.

Encountering Vessels With Limited Maneuverability
 ■ When operating a power-driven vessel, you must give 

way to:
• Any vessel not under command, such as an anchored or 

disabled vessel
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver, such as a 

vessel towing another or laying cable, or one constrained 
by its draft, such as a large ship in a channel

• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing
• A sailboat under sail unless it is overtaking

 ■ When operating a vessel under sail, you must give way to:
• Any vessel not under command
• Any vessel restricted in its ability to maneuver
• A vessel engaged in commercial fishing

To prevent collisions, every operator should follow the 
three basic rules of navigation.

 ■ Practice good seamanship. 
 ■ Keep a sharp lookout. 
 ■ Maintain a safe speed and distance.

On the Water
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Navigation Rules 
There are two terms that help explain these rules.

 ■ Stand-on vessel: The vessel that should maintain its course 
and speed 

 ■ Give-way vessel: The vessel that must take early and 
substantial action to avoid collision by stopping, slowing 
down, or changing course

Give 
way! Give 

way! Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Give 
way!

Power vs. Power Power vs. SailMeeting Head-On
Power vs. Power: Neither 
vessel is the stand-on vessel. 
Both vessels should keep to the 
starboard (right).

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel.

Crossing Situations
Power vs. Power: The vessel on 
the operator’s port (left) side is 
the give-way vessel. The vessel 
on the operator’s starboard (right) 
side is the stand-on vessel. 

Power vs. Sail: The powerboat is 
the give-way vessel. The sailboat 
is the stand-on vessel. 

Overtaking
Power vs. Power: The vessel that 
is overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.

Power vs. Sail: The vessel that is 
overtaking another vessel is the 
give-way vessel. The vessel being 
overtaken is the stand-on vessel.
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Nighttime Navigation
Be on the lookout for the lights of other vessels when boating at 
night. Several types of lights serve as navigational aids at night. 
There are four common navigation lights.

 ■ Sidelights: These red and green lights are called sidelights 
(also called combination lights) because they are visible 
to another vessel approaching from the side or head-on. 
The red light indicates a vessel’s port (left) side; the green 
indicates a vessel’s starboard (right) side. 

 ■ Sternlight: This white light is seen from behind or nearly 
behind the vessel.

 ■ Masthead Light: This white light shines forward and 
to both sides and is required on all power-driven vessels. 
A masthead light must be displayed by all vessels when 
under engine power. The absence of this light indicates a 
sailboat under sail.

 ■ All-Round White Light: On power-driven vessels 
less than 39.4 feet in length, this light may be used to 
combine a masthead light and sternlight into a single 
white light that can be seen by other vessels from any 
direction. This light serves as an anchor light when  
sidelights are extinguished.

sternlight
sidelights 
(combination)

masthead light 
(225 degrees)

sidelights 
(combination)

all-round white light 
(360 degrees)

Navigation lights 
on a power-driven 
vessel with an 
all-round white light 
and combination 
sidelights placed on 
the bow
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Encountering a  
Sailboat at Night
When you see only a red light 
or only a green light, you may 
be approaching a sailboat under 
sail, and you must give way. 
The sailboat under sail is always 
the stand-on vessel!

Give way

Give way

When you see only a white 
light, you are overtaking another 
vessel. It is the stand-on vessel, 
whether it is underway or 
anchored. You may go around it 
on either side.

When you see a green and a 
white light, you are the stand-on 
vessel. However, remain alert 
in case the other vessel operator 
does not see you or does not 
know the navigation rules.

When you see a red and a white 
light, you must give way to the 
other vessel! Slow down and 
allow the vessel to pass, or you 
may turn to the right and pass 
behind the other vessel.

Encountering Vessels at Night

Give way

Stand on, but 
be prepared 
to give way!

Give way
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U.S. Aids to Navigation System (ATON)
Buoys and markers are the “traffic signals” that guide vessel 
operators safely along some waterways. They also identify 
dangerous or controlled areas and give directions and informa-
tion. As a recreational boat or PWC operator, you will need to 
know the lateral navigation markers and non-lateral markers of 
the U.S. Aids to Navigation System.

Lateral Markers
These navigation aids mark the edges of safe water areas; for 
example, directing travel within a channel. The markers use 
a combination of colors and numbers, which may appear on 
either buoys or permanently placed markers.

Red colors, red lights, and even numbers 
indicate the right side of the channel  

as a boater enters from the open  
sea or heads upstream. 

Green colors, green lights, 
and odd numbers indicate the left side of the 
channel as a boater enters from the open sea or 
heads upstream.

Red and green colors and/or lights indicate 
the preferred (primary) channel. If green is 
on top, the preferred channel is to the right 

as a boater enters from the open sea or heads 
upstream; if red is on top, the preferred channel 

is to the left.
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Nuns are red cone-shaped buoys 
marked with even numbers.

Cans are green cylindrical-shaped buoys 
marked with odd numbers.

Lighted Buoys use the lateral marker colors 
and numbers discussed above; in addition, they 
have a matching colored light.

Daymarks are permanently placed 
signs attached to structures, such 
as posts, in the water. Common 

daymarks are red triangles (equivalent 
to nuns) and green squares (equivalent 

to cans). They may be lighted also.

Red Right Returning
is a reminder of the correct course when returning from open 

waters or heading upstream. 

open waters open waters
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Non-Lateral Markers
Non-lateral markers are navigational aids that give information 
other than the edges of safe water areas. The most common are 
regulatory markers which are white and use orange markings 
and black lettering. These markers are found on lakes and rivers.

Information
Squares indicate where to find food, supplies, 
repairs, etc., and give directions and other 
information.

Controlled
Circles indicate a controlled area, such as speed 
limit, no fishing or anchoring, ski only or no 
skiing, or “slow, no wake.”

Exclusion
Crossed diamonds indicate areas off-limits to 
all vessels, such as swimming areas, dams, and 
spillways.

Danger
Diamonds warn of dangers, such as rocks, 
shoals, construction, dams, or stumps. Always 
proceed with caution.
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Other Non-Lateral Markers

Safe Water Markers are white with 
red vertical stripes and mark mid-
channels or fairways. They may be 
passed on either side.

Inland Waters 
Obstruction Markers are white with black 
vertical stripes and indicate an obstruction to 
navigation. You should not pass between these 
buoys and the nearest shore.

Mooring Buoy
Mooring buoys are white with a blue 
horizontal band and are found in 
marinas and other areas where vessels 
are allowed to anchor.
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Weather Emergencies
Weather can change very rapidly and create unexpected situ-
ations for boat operators. Even meteorologists have trouble 
predicting rapid weather changes. You should always monitor 
weather developments. One way is to tune a VHF radio to the 
frequencies listed below.

Recreational boaters are given 
access to these VHF channels:

6 Intership safety communica-
tions only

9

Communications between 
vessels (commercial and 
recreational) and ship to 
coast

13
Strictly for navigational 
purposes by vessels at 
bridges, locks, and harbors

16
Distress and safety calls to 
USCG and others, and to 
initiate calls to other vessels

22
USCG broadcasts of severe 
weather warnings and 
other safety warnings

24–28 Public telephone calls  
(to marine operator)

68, 
69, 71

Recreational vessel radio 
channels and ship to coast

VHF Channels 
Broadcasting 
NOAA Weather 
Reports

Channel
Frequency 
(MHz)

WX1 162.550
WX2 162.400
WX3 162.475
WX4 162.425
WX5 162.450
WX6 162.500
WX7 162.525
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What to Do if Caught in Severe Weather 
 ■ Prepare the boat to handle severe weather.

• Slow down, but keep enough power to maintain headway 
and steering.

• Close all hatches, windows, and doors to reduce the 
chance of swamping.

• Stow any unnecessary gear.
• Turn on your boat’s navigation lights. If there is fog, sound 

your fog horn. 
• Keep bilges free of water. Be prepared to remove water by 

bailing.
• If there is lightning, disconnect all electrical equipment. 

Stay as clear of metal objects as possible.
 ■ Prepare your passengers for severe weather.

• Have everyone put on a USCG–approved life jacket 
(personal flotation device, or PFD). If passengers are 
already wearing their PFDs, make sure they are secured 
properly. 

• Have your passengers sit on the vessel floor close to the 
centerline for their safety and to make the boat more 
stable. 

 ■ Decide whether to go to shore or ride out the storm.
• If possible, head for the nearest shore that is safe to 

approach. If already caught in a storm, it may be best to 
ride it out in open water rather than try to approach the 
shore in heavy wind and waves.

• Head the bow into the waves at a 45-degree angle. PWCs 
should head directly into the waves.

• If the engine stops, drop a “sea anchor” on a line off the 
bow to keep the bow headed into the wind and reduce 
drifting while you ride out the storm. In an emergency, a 
bucket will work as a sea anchor. 

• If the sea anchor is not sufficient, anchor using your 
conventional anchor to prevent your boat from drifting 
into dangerous areas.
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Other Boating Emergencies
A safe boater knows how to prevent and respond to other 
boating emergencies.
Falling Overboard 

 ■ To prevent persons from falling overboard:
• Don’t sit on the gunwale, bow, seat backs, motor cover, or 

any other area not designed for seating.
• Don’t sit on pedestal seats when underway at greater than 

idle speed.
• Don’t stand up in or lean out from the boat.
• Don’t move about the boat when underway.

 ■ If someone on your boat falls overboard:
• Reduce speed and toss the victim a throwable PFD.
• Turn your boat around, and slowly pull alongside the 

victim, approaching the victim from downwind or into 
the current, whichever is stronger.

• Turn off the engine. Pull the victim on board over the 
stern, keeping the weight in the boat balanced.

Capsizing or Swamping 
 ■ To reduce the risk of capsizing or swamping:

• Don’t overload your boat. Balance the load.
• Slow your boat appropriately when turning.
• Secure the anchor line to the bow, never to the stern.
• Don’t boat in rough water or in bad weather.

 ■ If you capsize or swamp your boat, or if you have fallen 
overboard and can’t get back in:
• Stay with the boat. 
• Try to reboard or climb onto it in order to get as much of 

your body out of the cold water as possible.
 ■ If the boat sinks or floats away, don’t panic.

• If wearing a PFD, remain calm and await help.
• If you aren’t wearing a PFD, look around for one or for 

other buoyant items to use as a flotation device. 
• In cold water, float rather than tread. 
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Hypothermia 
Hypothermia is defined as the lowering of the core body 
temperature. Hypothermia occurs when the body loses heat 
faster than it produces it and can cause death. It can occur any 
time an individual is exposed to cold, wet, or windy weather.

 ■ If you are boating in cold water:
• Dress in several layers of clothing under your PFD, or 

wear a wetsuit or drysuit.
• Learn to recognize the symptoms of hypothermia. 

Symptoms begin with shivering and bluish lips and nails 
and progress to a coma and, ultimately, death.

 ■ To reduce the effects of hypothermia if you do fall into or 
must enter cold water:
• Put on a PFD if not wearing one. It helps you to float 

without excessive movement and insulates your body. 
• Get as much of your body out of the water as possible. 
• Don’t take your clothes off unless necessary—clothes can 

help you float and provide insulation.
• Don’t thrash or move about. Excess 

motion consumes energy and 
increases loss of body heat.

• Draw your knees to your chest and 
your arms to your sides, protecting 
the major areas of heat loss.

• If others are in the water with you, 
huddle together with your arms 
around their shoulders. 



26  Boating Basics

Carbon Monoxide Poisoning
Carbon monoxide (CO) is an invisible, odorless, tasteless gas. 
CO can make you sick in seconds. In high enough concentra-
tions, even a few breaths can be fatal. 

 ■ Early symptoms of CO poisoning include irritated eyes, 
headache, nausea, weakness, and dizziness. They are often 
confused with seasickness or intoxication. Move anyone with 
these symptoms into fresh air immediately. Seek medical 
attention—unless you’re sure it’s not CO.

 ■ Sources of CO on your vessel may include engines, gas 
generators, cooking ranges, and space and water heaters. 
Natural air flows can suck fumes forward into the vessel.

 ■ Swimmers should never enter areas under swim platforms 
where exhaust outlets are located—even for a second. One or 
two breaths of the air in this area could be fatal. 

Exhaust from Engine 
and Generator

DANGER! Air Pocket 
& Water Under Step

Swim Platform
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 ■ To protect yourself and others against CO poisoning while 
boating:
• Keep fresh air flowing 

throughout the vessel 
at all times.

• Keep your vessel at 
least 20 feet from a 
vessel that is running 
a generator or engine. 

• Know where 
your engine and 
generator exhaust 
outlets are located, 
and keep everyone 
away from these 
areas.

• Never sit on the 
back deck, teak 
surf, or hang on the 
swim platform while the 
engines are running.

• If exhaust fumes are 
detected on the vessel, 
immediately ventilate.

• Install and maintain CO 
detectors inside your 
vessel. Replace detectors 
as recommended by the manufacturer.

Teak Surfing

Blocked Exhaust Outlets

Another Vessel’s Exhaust



Although a personal watercraft (PWC) is considered an inboard 
vessel and comes under the same rules and requirements of 
any other vessel, there are specific considerations for the PWC 
operator.

steering control

steering nozzle

Steering and Stopping a PWC
 ■ PWCs are propelled by drawing water 

into a pump and then forcing it out under 
pressure through a steering nozzle at the 
back of the unit. This “jet” of pressurized 
water is directed by the steering control—
when the steering control is turned, the 
steering nozzle turns in the same direction. 
For example, if the steering control is 
turned right, the nozzle turns right and the 
jet of water pushes the back of the vessel 
to the left, which causes the PWC to turn 
right.

 ■ Most PWCs do not have brakes. Always allow plenty of 
room for stopping. Just because you release the throttle or 
shut off the engine does not mean you will stop immedi-
ately. Even PWCs that have a braking system do not stop 
immediately.

Specifically for PWCs

Remember—no power means no steering control…
Most PWCs and other jet-drive vessels must have power 
in order to maintain control. If you allow the engine on a 
PWC or other jet-propelled vessel to return to idle or shut 
off during operation, you may lose all steering control. Many 
PWCs will continue in the direction they were headed before 
the engine was shut off, no matter which way the steering 
control is turned. New PWCs allow for off-throttle steering.
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Engine Cut-Off Switches
 ■ Most PWCs and powerboats 

come equipped by the manufac-
turer with an important device 
called an emergency engine 
cut-off switch. This is a safety 
device that is designed to shut 
off the engine if the operator is thrown from the proper 
operating position.

 ■ A lanyard is attached to the safety switch and the  
operator’s wrist or PFD. The safety switch shuts off the 
engine if the operator falls off the PWC or out of the 
powerboat. If your vessel does not come equipped with an 
engine cut-off switch, you should have one installed.

 ■ In many states, it is illegal to ride your PWC without 
attaching the lanyard properly between the switch and 
yourself.

Reboarding a Capsized PWC
After a fall, the PWC could be overturned completely. You 
should be familiar with the proper procedure to right the PWC 
and to reboard from the rear of the craft.

 ■ Most manufacturers have placed a decal at the rear or 
bottom of the craft that 
indicates the direction to 
roll your PWC to return it 
to an upright position. If no 
decal exists, check your owner’s 
manual or ask the dealer. If you 
roll it over the wrong way, you 
could damage your PWC.

 ■ Practice reboarding with 
someone else around to make sure you can handle it 
alone. Don’t ride your PWC if you are very tired because 
reboarding would be difficult. Also, avoid riding where there 
are strong currents or winds, which could hamper your 
reboarding efforts.
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Courtesy When Encountering Other Vessels
 ■ Jumping the wake of a passing vessel, or riding too 

close to another vessel, creates risks and is prohibited in 
Massachusetts. Visibility around the vessel making the 
wake may be blocked, both for the PWC operator and for 
approaching vessels. 

 ■ Excessive noise from PWCs often makes them unwelcome.
• Avoid congregating with other PWC operators near shore, 

which increases annoying noise levels. 
• Avoid making excessive noise near residential and camping 

areas, particularly early in the morning. Excessive use 
in one area can be an irritant to people who are there to 
enjoy a quiet and relaxing time.

• Avoid maneuvers that cause the engine exhaust to lift out 
of the water because that increases noise levels.

• Do not modify your engine exhaust system if it increases 
the noise. Improperly modified exhausts will not make 
your PWC faster and may raise the noise to an illegal level.

Environmental Considerations
When operating your PWC or other jet-propelled watercraft, 
consider the effect you may have on the environment.

 ■ Make sure that the water you operate in is at least 30 inches 
deep. Riding in shallow water can cause bottom sediments 
or aquatic vegetation to be sucked into the pump, damaging 
your PWC and the environment.

 ■ Avoid causing erosion by operating 
at slow speed and by not creating a 
wake when operating near shore or 
in narrow streams or rivers.

 ■ Do not dock or beach your PWC 
in reeds and grasses. This could 
damage fragile environments.

 ■ Take extra care when fueling your 
PWC in or near the water. Oil and 
gasoline spills are very detrimental to the aquatic environ-
ment. Fuel on land if possible.

 ■ Never use your PWC to disturb, chase, or harass wildlife.
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Other PWC Considerations
 ■ Remember that you and anyone on board must wear a PFD. 
 ■ Frequently inspect your PWC’s electrical systems (e.g., 

starter and engine gauge connections) to ensure there is no 
potential for electrical spark. Gas fumes could collect in the 
engine compartment, and an explosion could occur. After 
fueling, sniff the engine compartment for any evidence of 
gas fumes.

 ■ Make sure that every operator and passenger knows how to 
swim.

 ■ Keep hands, feet, loose clothing, and 
hair away from the pump intake. 
Before cleaning debris away from 
the pump intake, always shut off the 
engine.

 ■ Never exceed the manufacturer’s 
recommended capacity for your 
PWC.

 ■ See page 7 for safety tips on fueling 
PWCs. 

 ■ See pages 62–63 for legal require-
ments specific to PWCs. 

Here are some important things to do when operating  
a PWC:

• Do not ride too closely behind another PWC. If it turns 
sharply or if it stalls, you could collide with it; if the 
other rider falls off, you could run over him or her.

• Be aware of all traffic in your boating area; don’t focus 
just on the short distance ahead.

• Always remember that operating a PWC has the same 
responsibilities as operating any other vessel.

It is prohibited to use a personal watercraft (PWC), regardless 
of size, to tow waterskiers, tubes, or any similar device upon 
Massachusetts waters. 



Paddlesports
Paddlers (those who boat in small craft, such as canoes, kayaks, 
and rafts) should follow the same safe practices as any other 
small vessel operator. 

 ■ When paddling, you should:
• Know how to paddle or swim in strong currents, and be an 

experienced swimmer. 
• Wear a PFD at all times, and consider wearing a helmet. 
• Dress in layers under your PFD.

• Be prepared for cold water by wearing a wetsuit or drysuit. 
Don’t underestimate cold water’s ability to rob you of your 
strength.

• Never paddle alone. Paddle with someone who is familiar 
with the waterway.

• Never overload the craft. Tie down gear, and distribute 
weight evenly. 

• Don’t stand up or move around in a small craft as that can 
make it unstable.

• Carry a first-aid kit.
• Check your craft for leaks.
• Map a general route and timetable when embarking on a 

long trip. Arrange for your vehicles to be shuttled to the 
take-out point.

Other Watersports
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• Be aware of any dangers ahead. When approaching rapids, 
go ashore well upstream, and check them out before 
continuing. Steer clear of drop-offs and dams. Carry your 
craft around low-head dams.

• Stay away from strainers. Strainers are river obstructions 
that allow water to flow through but block vessels and 
could throw you overboard and damage or trap your craft. 
Strainers may include overhanging branches, logjams, or 
flooded islands.

 ■ If you capsize, follow these guidelines.
• Float on the upstream side of the craft. You can be crushed 

on the downstream side if you run into an obstruction.
• Do not attempt to stand or walk in swift-moving water. 

The current could pull you under if your foot becomes 
trapped between submerged rocks.

• Float on your back with your feet and arms extended. 
Float with your feet pointed downstream to act as a buffer 
against rocks. Don’t fight the current. Use the current to 
backstroke your way to shore.

 ■ If paddling on a lake, watch the weather and stay close to 
shore. Head for shore if the waves increase.

 ■ Canoe and kayak fatalities have grown significantly over the 
past 10 years in Massachusetts. Because both canoes and 
kayaks can capsize quite easily, make sure that you know the 
water temperature, and outfit yourself accordingly. Water 
temperatures can be deceiving and dangerously cold even on 
days when the air temperature is comfortable.

 ■ When using a stand-up paddleboard (SUP) beyond 
the limits of swimming, bathing, or surfing areas, users 
are required by law to have a Type I, II, or III personal 
floatation device (PFD) aboard.

All persons on board a canoe or kayak 
from September 15 to May 15 must wear a 

USCG–approved Type I, II, or III PFD at all times.



All operators are required to obey laws that regulate vessel regis-
tration and operation.

Registering Your Motorboat
 ■ You must have a Massachusetts Certificate of Number (boat 

registration) to operate a motorboat legally on Massachusetts 
waters. Exceptions to registration are:
• Vessels without any kind of motor (unpowered canoes, 

sailboats, or kayaks)
• Vessels properly registered in another state and using 

Massachusetts waters for 60 or fewer consecutive days
• Vessels documented with the U.S. Coast Guard

 ■ The Certificate of Number 
(pocket-sized card) must be 
on board and available for 
inspection by an enforce-
ment officer whenever the 
vessel is being operated.

 ■ The registration number 
and validation decal must 
be displayed as follows.
• Number must be painted, applied as a decal, or otherwise 

affixed on the forward half of each side of the vessel and 
placed to be clearly visible.

• Number must read from left to right on both sides of the 
vessel.

• Number must be in at least three-inch-high, bold, 
BLOCK letters.

• Number’s color must contrast sharply with its background.
• No other numbers may be displayed on either side of the 

bow.

Before Going Out



It’s the Law!  35

• Letters must be separated from the numbers by two-inch 
spaces or hyphens:  
MS  3717  ZW or MS-3717-ZW.

• The validation decal must be affixed within six inches 
following the registration number on the port (left) side of 
the vessel. 

 ■ If your vessel requires registration, it is illegal to operate it or 
allow others to operate your vessel unless it is registered and 
numbered as described above.

MS 3717 ZW  ■MS 3717 ZW

Spaces or 
hyphens should 
appear here.

Validation 
Decal

Where to Register
You can submit your registration or title applications and fees to:

• Massachusetts Environmental Police 
Registration and Titling Bureau 
251 Causeway St., Suite 101 
Boston, MA 02114 or…

• Any of our satellite offices listed on the inside back 
cover or…

• The online registration renewal at: 
www.mass.gov/ole*

Registration Questions?
Contact the Registration and Titling Bureau 
by calling 617-626-1610 or sending a fax 
to 617-626-1630. You also may find the 
answers to registration questions on the 
Internet by visiting www.mass.gov/ole.
*If your registration has been expired for 48 months or longer, you will not be able to 
renew online.
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How to Apply for Registration
To register a vessel, you need to provide:

• Bill of Sale (name and address of seller)
• Sales tax form (ST-6 or ST-6E) (you can pay sales tax 

online at www.mass.gov/dor)
• Pencil tracing of Hull ID Number (serial number)*
• Required fees (see fee schedule on the next page)
• Properly completed and signed registration application

* If your vessel was built prior to 1972 or does not have a proper Hull 
Identification Number (HIN), a vessel inspection may be required.

If the vessel is 14 ft. or greater in length, you also need to 
provide in addition to the documents above:

• The title** or, if the vessel is documented with the 
U.S. Coast Guard, Termination of Documentation 
(“Deletion Letter”) from the U.S. Coast Guard

** If the vessel is purchased new from a registered boat dealer or department 
store, an original “Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin” is required in lieu 
of title. When a boat is purchased from a private party from a non-titled 
state, the previous owner’s registration is required in lieu of title.

When in doubt, please call one of our registration offices 
listed on the inside back cover prior to submitting an 
application.

Titling Your Motorboat
All vessels 14 feet or greater in length that require registration 
also must be titled. 

 ■ The title application must be made to the Massachusetts 
Environmental Police within 20 days of purchasing a vessel. 

 ■ The title certificate is valid for the life of the vessel or until 
the vessel is sold or otherwise transferred, at which time the 
new owner must transfer the title. 
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Fees to Register and Title Your Vessel
Registration of a Motorboat  (2 years)
 Length of vessel ................................................Fee
 Under 16 ft.  ................................................ $44.00
 16 ft. to less than 26 ft.  ............................... $66.00
 26 ft. to less than 40 ft.  ............................... $88.00
 40 ft. plus ................................................... $110.00
Other Fees
 Title for boats 14 ft. or greater in length ...... $27.50
 Duplicate Title ............................................. $16.50
 Transfer of Registration ................................ $16.50
 Duplicate Registration ................................. $11.00
 Duplicate Expiration Decal ............................ $5.50

If visiting any registration office, please bring a check or money order made 
payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.

Other Facts About Titling and Registration
 ■ A Certificate of Number is valid for two years from the 

date it is issued. Owners of vessels that have already been 
registered will be sent a renewal notice to their residence 
at least one month prior to the expiration of their current 
registration.

 ■ The Massachusetts Environmental Police must be notified 
within 15 days of any of these events:
• The sale, trade, or transfer of ownership of a registered 

vessel
• The abandonment, destruction, loss, or theft of a registered 

vessel
• The change of address of the owner of a registered vessel
• The destruction or loss of a Certificate of Number or vali-

dation decal
 ■ Boat trailers are registered and titled under the same require-

ments as passenger cars. Application is made through the 
Registry of Motor Vehicles. 



38  It’s the Law!

 ■ Larger recreational vessels owned by U.S. citizens may (at 
the option of the owner) be documented by the U.S. Coast 
Guard. Call the USCG at 1-800-799-8362 for more infor-
mation. Documented vessels are exempt from Massachusetts 
registration and titling requirements.

Hull Identification Number
 ■ The Hull Identification 

Number (HIN) is a unique, 
12-digit number assigned by 
the manufacturer to vessels 
built after 1972. 

 ■ Hull Identification Numbers:
• Distinguish one vessel from 

another .
• Are engraved in the fiber-

glass or on a metal plate 
permanently attached to the transom.

 ■ You should write down your HIN and put it in a place 
separate from your vessel in case warranty problems arise or 
your vessel is stolen.

 ■ It is illegal to remove or in any way falsify a Hull 
Identification Number.

 ■ If your vessel is homemade, was built before 1972, or does 
not have a proper hull identification number (HIN), please 
contact the Massachusetts Environment Police at 1-800-
632-8075 to arrange for a vessel inspection. The inspecting 
officer will provide the customer with an inspection certifi-
cate that must be presented when registering the vessel. At 
the time of registration, your boat will be assigned an HIN. 
You will be given instructions on how to place this HIN on 
your boat. You must provide proof, to the registration 
office, of the HIN placement on your boat before you 
will receive your registration card and decal. 

 ■ An HIN is required to title and register your vessel.

 ABC  67689  B6  06

   Hull Serial       Model 
  Number  Year
 Manufacturer’s  Date of 
 Identification   Manufacture
 Code
 (MIC)
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Who May Operate a Vessel
 ■ Who May Operate a Motorboat: The restrictions below 

apply to boats propelled by any type of motor, whether or not 
the motor is the principal source of propulsion.
• Persons under 12 years of age may operate a motorboat on 

Massachusetts waters only if accompanied on board and directly 
supervised by a competent person 18 years of age or older.

• Persons 12 through 15 years of age may operate a 
motorboat on Massachusetts waters only if they:
 - Have passed a state-approved boating education course or…
 - Are accompanied on board and directly supervised by a 
competent person 18 years of age or older.

• Persons 16 years of age or older may operate a motor boat 
on Massachusetts waters without age restrictions.

 ■ Who May Operate a Personal Watercraft (PWC): 
• Persons under 16 years of age may not operate a PWC on 

Massachusetts waters under any circumstances.
• Persons 16 or 17 years of age may operate a PWC on 

Massachusetts waters only if they have passed a state-
approved boating education course.

• Persons 18 years of age or older may operate a PWC on 
Massachusetts waters without age restrictions.

• It is illegal to lease or rent a personal watercraft to any 
person under 16 years of age. It is illegal to lease or rent a 
PWC to any person 16 or 17 years of age who does not 
have in his or her possession the required Boating Safety 
Certificate.

 ■ A person must be at least 12 years 
of age to be issued a Boating Safety 
Certificate. Students must be at 
least 12 years of age to enroll in the 
state’s boating safety course.

 ■ Persons required to have passed 
a state-approved boating education course must have 
the Boating Safety Certificate on board and available for 
inspection by an enforcement officer whenever the vessel is 
operated.

Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Boating Safety Certificate

  John B. Boater

                                 USCG Recognized

Eye Color Brown Course Provider: MEP
Hair Color Brown Valid From: 4/13/2013

DOB: 7/28/2000 Card Number: 1234567
Gender: M



When preparing to go out on a vessel, the operator must check 
that the legally required equipment is on board.

Personal Flotation Devices (PFDs)
 ■ All vessels must have at least one USCG–approved  

Type I, II, III, or V PFD for each person  
on board.

 ■ In addition to the above requirement, one USCG–approved 
Type IV (throwable) PFD must be on board vessels 16 feet 
or longer. 

 ■ Children under 12 years of age must wear a USCG–
approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD whenever above deck on 
any vessel that is underway.

 ■ Each person on board a personal watercraft (PWC) must 
wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, III, or V PFD at all 
times.

 ■ Each person water-skiing or being towed in any manner 
must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or III PFD at all 
times.

 ■ Each person on board a canoe or kayak from September 15 
to May 15 must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or III 
PFD at all times.

 ■ All PFDs must be:
• U.S. Coast Guard–approved, which means they are marked 

clearly with the USCG approval number.
• In good and serviceable condition.
• Readily accessible, which means you are able to put the 

PFD on quickly in an emergency.
• Of the proper size for the intended wearer. Sizing for PFDs is 

based on body weight and chest size.

Required Equipment
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TYPE I: Wearable Offshore Life 
Jackets
These vests are geared for rough or 
remote waters where rescue may 
take a while. They provide the most 
buoyancy, are excellent for flotation, 
and will turn most unconscious 
persons face up in the water.

TYPE II: Wearable Near-Shore Vests
These vests are good for calm waters 
when quick rescue is likely. A Type 
II may not turn some unconscious 
wearers face up in the water.

TYPE III: Wearable Flotation Aids
These vests or full-sleeved jackets are 
good for calm waters when quick rescue 
is likely. They are not recommended for 
rough waters because they will not turn 
most unconscious persons face up. 

TYPE IV: Throwable Devices
These cushions and ring buoys are 
designed to be thrown to someone 
in trouble. Since a Type IV is not 
designed to be worn, it is neither for 
rough waters nor for persons who are 
unable to hold onto it.

TYPE V: Special-Use Devices
These vests, deck suits, hybrid PFDs, 
and others are designed for specific 
activities, such as windsurfing, 
kayaking, or water-skiing. To be accept-
able, Type V PFDs must be used in accor-
dance with their labels.
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Boat Smart—Wear Your PFD
Approximately 70% of all boating fatalities involve drownings 
caused by boating accidents. Most drowning victims are not 
wearing a PFD or are wearing an inadequate one. That is why it 
is critical that you have a U.S. 
Coast Guard–approved PFD 
for each person on board.

 ■ PFDs must be readily 
accessible. Better yet, each 
person should wear a PFD 
because PFDs are difficult 
to put on once you are in 
the water. In most fatal 
accidents, the proper PFDs 
were on board but were not 
in use or were not within 
easy reach. If you are in 
the water without a PFD 
on, retrieve a floating PFD and hold it to your chest by 
wrapping your arms around it.

 ■ PFDs must be of the proper size for the intended wearer. 
Always read the label of the PFD to make sure it is the right 
size based on the person’s weight and chest size. It’s especially 
important to check that a child’s PFD fits snugly. Test the 
fit by picking the child up by the shoulders of the PFD and 
checking that his or her chin and ears do not slip through 
the PFD.

 ■ PFDs must be in good and serviceable condition. 
• Regularly test a PFD’s buoyancy in shallow water or a 

swimming pool. Remember that, over time, the ultraviolet 
radiation from the sun will break down the synthetic 
materials used to make your PFD. 

• Frequently inspect personal flotation devices for rips or 
tears, discolored or weakened material, insecure straps or 
zippers, or labels that are no longer readable. Discard and 
replace any PFD that has a problem. 
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• If using an inflatable PFD, before each outing check the 
status of the inflator and that the CO₂ cylinder has not 
been used, has no leaks, and is tightly screwed in. Also 
check that the PFD itself has no leaks by removing the 
CO₂ cylinder and orally inflating the PFD. The PFD 
should still be firm after several hours. After an inflatable 
PFD has been inflated using the CO₂ cylinder, replace the 
spent cylinder and re-arm it. Because an inflatable PFD 
is a mechanical device, it requires regular maintenance. 
Inspect and maintain the inflatable portion of the PFD as 
instructed in the owner’s manual.

In Massachusetts over the last 10 years, 85% of the victims 
who died in boating accidents did not use PFDs. The 
majority of these victims fell overboard or capsized and 
then drowned. Many of these deaths undoubtedly would 
have been prevented if a PFD had been worn.
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Navigation Lights
The required navigation lights must be displayed between 
sunset and sunrise and during periods of restricted visibility. 
Power-Driven Vessels When Underway
If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the lights 
as shown in illustration 1. Remember, power-driven vessels 
include sailboats operating under engine power. The required 
lights are:

 ■ Red and green sidelights visible from a distance of at least 
two miles away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one 
mile away—on a dark, clear night.

 ■ An all-round white light or both a masthead light and a 
sternlight. These lights must be visible from a distance of at 
least two miles away on a dark, clear night. The all-round 
white light (or the masthead light) must be at least 3.3 feet 
higher than the sidelights.

Unpowered Vessels When Underway 
Unpowered vessels are sailboats or vessels that are paddled, 
poled, or rowed. 

 ■ If less than 65.6 feet long, these vessels must exhibit the 
lights as shown in illustration 2. The required lights are:
• Red and green sidelights visible from at least two miles 

away—or if less than 39.4 feet long, at least one mile away.
• A sternlight visible from at least two miles away.

 ■ If less than 23.0 feet long, these vessels should:
• If practical, exhibit the same lights as required for 

unpowered vessels less than 65.6 feet in length.
• If not practical, have on hand at least one lantern or flash-

light shining a white light as in illustration 3.
All Vessels When Not Underway 
All vessels are required to display a white light visible in all 
directions whenever they are moored or anchored outside a 
designated mooring area between sunset and sunrise.
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1. Power-Driven Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

2. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 65.6 Feet

To prevent a collision, 
vessel operators 
should never leave 
shore without a 
flashlight. Even if you 
plan to return before 
dark, unforeseen 
developments might 
delay your return past 
nightfall.

3. Unpowered Vessels Less Than 23 Feet

An alternative 
to the sidelights 
and sternlight is a 
combination red, 
green, and white 
light, which must 
be exhibited near 
the top of the 
mast.

The masthead light and 
sternlight may be combined 
as an all-round white 
light on vessels less than 
39.4 feet long. Less than 39.4 feet only
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Fire Extinguishers
 ■ All vessels with a motor of any type are required to have a 

Type B fire extinguisher on board. The only exception is 
a vessel that is of open construction, is less than 26 feet in 
length, has an outboard engine, is not carrying passengers 
for hire, and is not on federally controlled waters. 

 ■ Approved types of fire extinguishers are identified by the 
following marking on the label—“Marine Type USCG 
Approved”—followed by the type and size symbols (B-I or 
B-II) and the approval number. The “II” in the symbol B-II 
indicates that this type of fire extinguisher has twice the 
amount of extinguishing agent as those labeled B-I.

 ■ Extinguishers should be placed in an accessible area—not 
near the engine or in a compartment, but where they 
can be reached immediately. Be sure 
you know how to operate them, and 
inspect extinguishers regularly to 
ensure they are in working condition 
and fully charged.

Fire Extinguisher Requirements*
Classification Foam Carbon Dioxide Dry Chemical

type & size minimum gallons minimum pounds minimum pounds
B-I 1¼ 4 2
B-II 2½ 15 10

Length of Vessel Without Fixed System With Fixed System**
Less than 16 ft. None*** None
16 ft. to less than 26 ft. one B-I None
26 ft. to less than 40 ft. two B-I or one B-II one B-I
40 ft. to less than 65 ft. three B-I or  

one B-II and one B-I
two B-I or  
one B-II

* See first paragraph on this page for exceptions.
**  Refers to a permanently installed fire extinguisher system.
*** One B-I extinguisher is required if boating on federally controlled waters.
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Ventilation Systems
The purpose of ventilation 
systems is to avoid explosions 
by removing flammable gases. 
Properly installed ventilation systems greatly reduce the chance 
of a life-threatening explosion.

 ■ All gasoline-powered vessels, constructed in a way that would 
entrap fumes, must have at least two ventilation ducts fitted 
with cowls to remove the fumes.

 ■ If your vessel is equipped with a power ventilation system, 
turn it on for at least four minutes both after fueling and 
before starting your engine. 

 ■ If your vessel is not equipped with a power ventilation 
system (for example, a personal watercraft), open the engine 
compartment and sniff for gasoline fumes before starting the 
engine.

Backfire Flame Arrestors
Backfire flame arrestors are designed to prevent the ignition 
of gasoline vapors in case the engine backfires. All gasoline-
powered motorboats, except outboards, must have a backfire 
flame arrestor on each carburetor that is U.S. Coast Guard–
approved (must comply with SAE J-1928 or UL 1111 
standards).

Mufflers and Noise Level Limits
 ■ The exhaust of every internal combustion engine on any 

vessel must be effectively muffled by a muffler or underwater 
exhaust. That is, the engine’s exhaust must be muffled or 
suppressed at all times so as not to create excessive noise.

 ■ The use of cutouts is prohibited.
 ■ It is illegal to remove or modify the exhaust or muffler 

system of a vessel.
 ■ Vessels involved in a marine event authorized by the 

Massachusetts Environmental Police are exempt from the 
requirements above.
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Visual Distress Signals (VDSs)
Visual Distress Signals (VDSs) allow vessel operators to signal 
for help in the event of an emergency. 

 ■ Vessels on federally controlled waters or on Massachusetts 
coastal waters must be equipped with visual distress 
signals that are U.S. Coast Guard–approved, in serviceable 
condition, and readily accessible.

 ■ All vessels, regardless of length or type, are required to carry 
night signals when operating between sunset and sunrise. 
Most vessels must carry day signals also. Exceptions to the 
requirement for day signals are:
• Recreational vessels that are less than 16 feet in length
• Non-motorized open sailboats that are less than 26 feet in 

length
• Manually propelled vessels

 ■ If pyrotechnic VDSs are used, they must be dated. Expired 
VDSs may be carried on board, but a minimum of three 
unexpired VDSs must be carried in the vessel.

 ■ The following combinations of signals are examples of VDSs 
that could be carried on board to satisfy U.S. Coast Guard 
requirements:
• Three handheld red flares (day and night)
• One handheld red flare and two red meteors (day and 

night)
• One handheld orange smoke signal (day), two floating 

orange smoke signals (day), and one electric light (night 
only)

 ■ It is prohibited to display visual distress signals while on the 
water unless assistance is required to prevent immediate or 
potential danger to persons on board.
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VDSs are classified as day signals (visible in bright sunlight), 
night signals (visible at night), or both day and night signals. 
VDSs are either pyrotechnic (smoke and flames) or non-
pyrotechnic (non-combustible). 

Arm Signal
Although this signal 
does not meet VDS 
equipment require-
ments, wave your 
arms to summon 
help if you do not 
have other distress 
signals on board.

Pyrotechnic Visual Distress 
Signals
Orange Smoke—Handheld
Orange Smoke—Floating
Day Signal
Red Meteor
Day and Night Signal
Red Flare
Day and Night Signal

Non-Pyrotechnic Visual  
Distress Signals
Electric Light
Night Signal
Orange Flag
Day Signal

Federally Controlled Waters
Vessels must observe federal require-
ments on these waters:

• Coastal waters
• The Great Lakes
• Territorial seas
• Bodies of water connected 

directly to one of the above, 
up to a point where the body 
of water is less than two miles 
wide

Massachusetts Coastal Waters
Any Massachusetts waters that are 
subject to the rise and fall of the 
tide out to three nautical miles from 
any Massachusetts land point and 
including all of Massachusetts Bay, 
Vineyard Sound, Nantucket Sound, 
Buzzards Bay, and Cape Cod Bay.
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Sound-Producing Devices
A sound-producing device 
is required on all state and 
federally controlled waters. It 
is essential during periods of 
reduced visibility or whenever 
a vessel operator needs to signal 
his or her intentions or position. 

If on State Waters
Less than 26 feet long  
(includes PWCs)

An efficient whistle or other sound-
producing mechanical appliance to make 
an efficient sound signal audible for at 
least one-half mile required

26 feet long or longer Whistle or horn and a bell audible for at 
least one-half mile required

If on Federally Controlled Waters
Less than 65.6 feet long 
(includes PWCs)

Whistle or horn audible for at least 
one-half mile required

65.6 feet long or longer Whistle or horn and a bell audible for at 
least one mile required
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Sound Signals
Some common sound signals that you should be familiar 
with as a recreational boater are as follows.

Changing Direction
• One short blast tells other boaters, “I intend to pass you 

on my port (left) side.”
• Two short blasts tell other boaters, “I intend to pass you 

on my starboard (right) side.”
• Three short blasts tell other boaters, “I am operating 

astern propulsion.” For some vessels, this tells other 
operators, “I am backing up.”

Restricted Visibility
• One prolonged blast at intervals of not more than two 

minutes is the signal used by power-driven vessels when 
underway.

• One prolonged blast plus two short blasts at intervals 
of not more than two minutes is the signal used by 
sailing vessels.

Warning
• One prolonged blast is a warning signal (for example, 

used when coming around a blind bend or exiting a 
slip).

• Five (or more) short, rapid blasts signal danger or 
signal that you do not understand or that you disagree 
with the other boater’s intentions.
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Other Equipment
Diver-Down Flag

 ■ Persons scuba diving, skin diving, or snorkeling must display 
a red and white divers flag. 
• Divers or snorkelers must remain within 100 feet of the 

divers flag. 
• If possible, vessel operators not engaged in the diving 

operation should stay at least 100 feet from a displayed 
flag. If not possible, vessel operators must reduce speed to 
no more than three miles per hour. 

 ■ Two types of flags are used to indicate diving activity.
 ■ Divers engaged in recreational marine fisheries activities 

(i.e., catching lobsters or fin fish) are subject to special regu-
lations. Refer to www.mass.gov/eea/agencies/dfg/dmf/.

A rectangular red flag with 
a white diagonal stripe, at 
least 12 x 15 inches in size 
and constructed of rigidly 
supported material. This flag 
must be displayed on a vessel 
or surface float and must 
extend a minimum distance 
of three feet up from the 
surface of the water.

A blue and white 
International Code Flag A 
(or Alfa flag), flown from 
a vessel restricted in its 
ability to maneuver. This 
flag indicates that a vessel 
is involved in a diving 
activity. The Alfa flag may 
be displayed in addition to 
the divers flag but does not 
replace the divers flag.

Divers 
Flag

Alfa 
Flag
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Anchor and Bailer
All vessels propelled by a motor of any kind must have an 
anchor, and sufficient line (rope) to anchor in the vessel’s normal 
operating area, and a manual bailer. (PWCs are exempt from 
these requirements.)

Paddle or Oar
All vessels less than 16 feet in length and propelled by a motor 
of any kind must carry a paddle or oar on board. (PWCs are 
exempt from this requirement.)

Ladder
All vessels towing a person on water skis or similar devices must 
be equipped with a ladder, steps, platform, or similar device that 
can be used to retrieve the person being towed from the water.

The following are Massachusetts requirements 
and will not be found in federal law.

Fluke-Style 
Anchor
Good for most 
boats

Mushroom-Type 
Anchor
Useful only for small 
canoes, rowboats, small 
sailboats, or inflatables

Plow-Style Anchor
Good for most boats



In addition to the laws mentioned previously, here are some 
other Massachusetts regulations that apply when vessel 
operators are on the water.

Unlawful Operation
Massachusetts law states that these dangerous operating 
practices are illegal.

 ■ Reckless or Negligent Operation of a vessel is the failure 
to exercise the degree of care necessary to prevent endan-
gering the life, limb, or property of any person. Examples of 
reckless or negligent operation are:
• Operating at high speed or erratically in congested 

waterway traffic
• Operating such that your vessel or another vessel must 

swerve abruptly or cut speed in order to avoid collision
• Operating near or through areas being used by swimmers 

or divers
• Operating such that your vessel collides with another 

vessel, object, or person
• Operating under the influence of alcohol or drugs
• Cutting through a regatta or marine parade in progress
• Operating between sunset and sunrise without displaying 

navigation lights
• Chasing or harassing wildlife with your vessel

Remember…
As an owner of a vessel, you are responsible if you allow 
others to operate your vessel in an illegal manner or without 
the required equipment.

On the Water
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 ■ Improper Speed or Distance is not maintaining a proper 
speed and/or distance while operating a vessel. Specifically, it 
is illegal to operate any vessel: 
• At a distance from other vessels or at a speed that exceeds 

safe and reasonable limits given the waterway traffic; 
marked speed limits; visibility; wind, water, and current 
conditions; and the proximity of navigational hazards

• At greater than 45 miles per hour on any inland waters of 
Massachusetts, except on areas posted otherwise

• Motorboats may not be operated:
 - Within 150 feet of shorelines used as swimming areas
 - Within 75 feet of floats or markers that designate 
swimming areas

• At a rate of speed that creates a wake that causes damage, 
injury, or excessive rocking to other vessels, rafts, or floats

• At more than headway speed under any of the following 
conditions:
 - From 150 to 300 feet of shorelines used as swimming 
areas

 - Within 150 feet of marinas, ramps, rafts, or floats
 - Within 150 feet of swimmers
 - When vision is obscured by bridges, bends in the 
waterway, or any other reason

 - When operating in a channel, unless channel markers 
state that higher speeds are allowed

“Headway Speed” is the minimum speed at which a vessel 
may be operated and still maintain steering, but does not 
exceed 6 miles per hour.



56  It’s the Law!

 ■ Riding on the Bow or 
Gunwales is allowing 
passengers to ride on 
the bow, gunwales, or 
any other place where 
there may be a chance 
of falling overboard. 

 ■ Failure to Follow 
Navigation Rules is 
operating a vessel on 
Massachusetts waters in violation of the navigation rules 
as contained in the Code of Massachusetts Regulations, 
Section 323, CMR 2.07(13). 

 ■ Overloading or Overpowering is loading or powering the 
vessel beyond the safe load and power limits, taking into 
consideration weather and other operating conditions. The 
safe load and power limits for most vessels are shown on the 
capacity plate installed by the vessel manufacturer.

 ■ Unsafe Condition is operating a vessel in a condition that 
causes danger to the occupants or others on the waterways. 
Law enforcement officers may instruct the operator to take 
immediate corrective action or terminate the voyage if any 
of the following “unsafe conditions” exist:
• Inadequate number of PFDs or fire extinguishers
• Overloading (check capacity plate information)
• Failure to display navigation lights after sunset
• Fuel leakage or excessive fuel accumulation in the bilges or 

the engine compartment
• Lack of proper ventilation of engine spaces
• Failure to meet carburetor backfire flame arrestor 

requirements
• Excessive leakage or accumulation of water in the bilge
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Why drinking and boating can be lethal…
 ■ The effect of alcohol is increased by the natural stressors 

(wind, sun, vibration) placed on your body while boating. 
Also, the dehydration of your body caused by natural 
stressors causes alcohol to be absorbed more quickly into 
your system. 

 ■ Alcohol depresses the 
central nervous system, 
affects judgment, and 
slows reaction times. 
Most people become 
slightly intoxicated after 
only one drink. 

Alcohol and Drugs
Massachusetts has one of the strongest boating under the 
influence (BUI) laws in the nation. Massachusetts law prohibits 
anyone from operating any vessel while under the influence of 
alcohol or any controlled substance.

 ■ Massachusetts law states that a person is considered to be 
boating under the influence (BUI) if he or she has a blood or 
breath alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater.

 ■ Massachusetts law establishes the following penalties for 
BUI.
• Those convicted of BUI for the first time may be impris-

oned for up to 30 months, fined up to $1,000, or impris-
oned and fined. An offender also may have his or her 
motor vehicle license and vessel’s registration revoked for 
up to one year.

• Repeat offenders will receive more severe penalties.
• Offenders convicted of BUI and causing serious bodily 

injury to another person may be imprisoned for up to 10 
years and fined up to $5,000.

Just remember this simple rule:  
Don’t Drink and Boat!
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 ■ By operating a vessel on Massachusetts waters, you have 
given “implied” consent to alcohol testing if arrested for 
boating under the influence. Anyone who refuses to submit 
to a blood alcohol level test is subject to having their motor 
vehicle license suspended for 120 days and vessel’s registra-
tion revoked.

 ■ It is illegal for the owner or operator of a vessel to knowingly 
permit it to be operated by someone under the influence of 
alcohol or any controlled substance.

Obstructing Navigation
It is illegal to:

 ■ Operate any vessel in such a way that it will interfere unnec-
essarily with the safe navigation of other vessels.

 ■ Anchor a vessel in the traveled portion of a river or channel 
in a way that will prevent or interfere with any other vessel 
passing through the same area.

 ■ Moor or attach a vessel to a buoy (other than a mooring 
buoy), beacon, light, or any other navigational aid placed on 
public waters by proper authorities.

 ■ Move, displace, tamper with, damage, or destroy any navi-
gational aid.

 ■ Obstruct a pier, wharf, boat ramp, or access to any facility.

Marine Events
 ■ Permits for regattas, races, marine 

parades, tournaments, or exhibi-
tions to be held on state waters 
must be obtained from the 
Massachusetts Environmental 
Police in advance of the event. 

 ■ If the event is being held on 
federally controlled waters, a 
permit from the U.S. Coast 
Guard is required.



It’s the Law!  59

Homeland Security Restrictions
 ■ Violators of the restrictions below can expect a quick and 

severe response.
• Do not approach within 100 yards and slow to minimum 

speed within 500 yards of any U.S. Naval vessel. If you 
need to pass within 100 yards of a U.S. Naval vessel for 
safe passage, you must contact the U.S. Naval vessel or the 
U.S. Coast Guard escort vessel on VHF-FM channel 16. 

• Observe and avoid all security zones. Avoid commercial 
port operation areas, especially those that involve military, 
cruise line, or petroleum facilities.

• Observe and avoid other restricted areas near dams, power 
plants, etc.

• Do not stop or anchor beneath bridges or in the channel. 
 ■ Keep a sharp eye out for anything that looks peculiar or out 

of the ordinary. Report all activities that seem suspicious to 
the local authorities, the U.S. Coast Guard, or the port or 
marina security. 
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Boating Accidents
 ■ An operator involved in a boating accident must:

• Stop his or her vessel immediately at the scene of the 
accident and… 

• Assist anyone injured or in danger from the accident, 
unless doing so would seriously endanger his or her own 
vessel or passengers and… 

• Give, in writing, his or her name, address, and vessel 
identification to anyone injured and to the owner of any 
property damaged by the accident.

 ■ The operator of a vessel is required to submit a written 
report to the Massachusetts Environmental Police whenever 
an accident results in: 
• The death of a person or… 
• The disappearance of a person under circumstances that 

indicate the possibility of death or injury or… 
• Any injury requiring medical attention or… 
• Property damage exceeding $500.

 ■ Accidents resulting in death or serious injury must be 
reported to the Massachusetts Environmental Police within 
48 hours. All other accident reports must be submitted 
within five days. 

 ■ Accidents should be reported on a Boating Accident  
Report form available from the Massachusetts 
Environmental Police at www.mass.gov/ole.  

Local Regulations
Many Massachusetts waterways have additional equipment and 
operational restrictions besides those covered in this handbook. 
Be sure to check with the harbormaster’s office or local police 
department for local regulations before you go boating.
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Enforcement
 ■ Massachusetts Environmental Police officers, harbormas-

ters, police officers assigned to harbor patrol, fish and game 
wardens, and state police officers enforce the boating laws 
of Massachusetts. Town police and harbormasters also may 
enforce local recreational boating laws. U.S. Coast Guard 
officers patrol and have enforcement authority on federally 
controlled waters.

 ■ Officers have the authority to stop and board any recre-
ational vessel at any time to check equipment and registra-
tion and to positively identify the vessel operator.

 ■ It is illegal to refuse to follow the directive 
of a person with law enforcement 
authority. An operator who has received 
a visual or audible signal from a law 
enforcement officer must bring his or her 
vessel to a stop and allow safe boarding.

 ■ Officers may arrest, without a warrant, anyone in violation 
of, or believed to be in violation of, the boating laws of 
Massachusetts.

 ■ Officers empowered to enforce state boating laws and U.S. 
Coast Guard officers enforcing federal laws may terminate 
the use of vessels if they find an “unsafe condition.”



In addition to adhering to all boating laws, there are legal 
requirements that apply specifically to the operation of PWCs 
on Massachusetts waters. 

Requirements Specific to PWCs
 ■ Every person on 

board a PWC must 
wear a U.S. Coast 
Guard–approved 
Type I, II, III, or V 
personal flotation 
device that is in 
good and serviceable 
condition.

 ■ If the PWC is 
equipped with an engine cut-off switch, the lanyard must be 
attached to the person, clothing, or PFD of the operator. 

 ■ PWCs may be operated only from sunrise to sunset.
 ■ There are age and boater education requirements for 

operators of personal watercraft.
 ■ PWCs may not be operated within 150 feet of a swimmer 

or a moored vessel unless operated at headway speed.
 ■ PWCs may not be operated within 150 feet of a shoreline 

used for swimming.
 ■ PWCs may not be operated on any Massachusetts waters 

that are less than 75 acres in size.

Remember—PWC owners are responsible…
As an owner of a PWC, you are legally responsible if you 
allow your PWC to be operated by others in violation of 
Massachusetts law.

Specifically for PWCs
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 ■ It is illegal to tow a water-skier or a person in any other 
manner behind a PWC. 

 ■ PWCs must be operated in a safe and responsible manner. 
For example, it is illegal to:
• Jump the wake of another vessel.
• Speed in restricted areas.
• Follow within 150 feet of a water-skier.
• Cross unreasonably close to another vessel.
• Weave through congested waterway traffic.
• Operate in a way that endangers the life, limb, or property 

of any person.
• Chase or harass wildlife with your PWC.

Sharing Your PWC…Safely!
Before allowing anyone to operate your PWC, you should:

 ■ Make sure they meet the minimum age and education 
requirements for PWC operation. 

 ■ Make sure they know basic boating safety information 
and “rules of the road.”

 ■ Let beginners take their first rides in a quiet area. While 
still on shore, show them the proper procedures for deep 
water starting and reboarding.

 ■ Explain the basic operating features of the PWC. Be sure 
to give instruction on how to steer and control the PWC. 
Remind the operator that power is required for steering 
control!

 ■ Make sure the operator understands how to use the 
lanyard with the engine cut-off switch.

 ■ Explain the importance of “slow, no wake” restrictions.
 ■ Emphasize the need for staying alert. Beginning riders 

may concentrate on riding and not on paying attention to 
the surrounding traffic in the area.



Vessel operators towing a person(s) on water skis, an aquaplane, 
a kneeboard, a tube, or a similar device have additional laws they 
must follow.
Towing Skiers

 ■ It is illegal to tow a 
person on water skis or 
any person in any other 
manner from a PWC.

 ■ Every vessel towing a 
person(s) on water skis 
or similar devices must 
have on board, in addition to the operator, an observer at 
least 12 years of age constantly observing the person being 
towed.

 ■ Each person being towed behind a vessel on water skis or 
similar devices must wear a USCG–approved Type I, II, or 
III PFD.

 ■ It is illegal for vessels to tow a person(s) on water skis or 
similar devices from sunset to sunrise.

 ■ All vessels towing a person on water skis or similar devices 
must be equipped with a ladder, steps, a platform, or a 
similar device that can be used to retrieve the person being 
towed from the water.

 ■ Everyone engaged in water-skiing—the operator and the 
towed person(s)—must conduct themselves in a safe and 
responsible manner.
• Water-skiers must ski at a safe distance to prevent their 

wash from being thrown into or causing excessive rocking 
of other vessels, rafts, or floats. 

• The towing vessel must not be operated within 150 feet of 
shorelines being used as swimming areas or within 75 feet 
of floats or markers that designate swimming areas.

• It is illegal for the vessel operator to be under the influence 
of alcohol or any controlled substance.

Specifically for Skiing
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 ■ Water-skiing is not permitted on some Massachusetts 
waterways. Check before you go boating.

Knowing proper hand signals will help the skier(s) communi-
cate with their boat operator or the observer.

Hand Signals for Skiers

Stop

Turn rightTurn left

Speed OKSlow downSpeed up

Skier OK Skier down—watch!
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Avoiding Propeller Strike Injuries
Most propeller strike accidents result from 
operator error. Victims include swimmers, 
scuba divers, fallen water-skiers, and boat 
operators or passengers. Most propeller 
accidents can be prevented by following basic 
safe boating practices.

 ■ Maintain a proper lookout. The primary 
cause of propeller strike accidents is operator inattention.

 ■ Make sure the engine is off so that the propeller is not 
rotating when passengers are boarding or leaving a boat.

 ■ Never start a boat with the engine in gear.
 ■ Slow down when approaching congested areas and anchor-

ages. In congested areas, always be alert for swimmers and 
divers.

 ■ Learn to recognize warning buoys that mark swimming and 
hazardous areas.

 ■ Keep the boat away from marked swimming and diving 
areas. Become familiar with the red and white or blue and 
white diver-down flags signaling that divers are below the 
surface.

 ■ Make sure that passengers are seated properly before getting 
underway. Some operators of larger boats with several 
passengers have caused injuries by putting the engine in gear 
while people were still swimming or diving from the boat.

 ■ Never ride on a seat back, gunwale, transom, or bow.

Devices That Reduce Propeller Strikes
There are several new technologies designed to reduce 
propeller strikes. The effectiveness of the devices varies, 
depending on the boat and the operating environment. For 
more information, visit the U.S. Coast Guard’s boating safety 
website: http://www.uscgboating.org/recreational-boaters.



As a boater, it’s your legal responsibility to help  
protect the Massachusetts aquatic environment.

Discharge of Sewage and Waste 
 ■ All Massachusetts waters are a no 

discharge zone (NDZ). Massachusetts 
law states that it is unlawful to 
discharge sewage, whether treated or 
not, or other refuse from your vessel 
into Massachusetts waters. If you have 
a recreational vessel with installed toilet 
facilities, it must have on board an 
operable marine sanitation device (MSD) 
that is self-contained and 
incapable of discharging 
directly into the water.

 ■ All installed MSDs must be 
U.S. Coast Guard–certified.

Types of MSDs
There are three types of MSDs.

 ■ Types I and II MSDs treat waste with special chemicals to 
kill bacteria before the waste is discharged. It is illegal to 
discharge through a Type I or II MSD in Massachusetts. 
Types I and II MSDs with Y valves that would direct the 
waste overboard must be secured so that the valve cannot be 
opened. This can be done by placing a lock or non-reusable 
seal on the Y valve or by taking the handle off the Y valve.

 ■ Type III MSDs provide no treatment and are either 
holding tanks or portable toilets. Collected waste should 
be disposed of at a pump-out station or onshore toilet.

Drainage to  
pump-out station

Y valve must be 
secured so that waste 
cannot be discharged 
into the water

The Environment and Your Vessel

Pump-Out Station

Typical Marine 
Sanitation Device
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No Discharge Zones (NDZs) in Massachusetts 
No discharge zones, or NDZs, are designated bodies of water 
where the discharge of all boat sewage, whether treated or not, 
is prohibited. All Massachusetts waters are designated as “no 
discharge zones” for vessel sewage. (Boaters should note that 
waters of the Commonwealth can extend beyond three miles 
from the shore areas of Massachusetts Bay, Cape Cod Bay, 
and Buzzards Bay. See NOAA Chart 13267 for the federal 
boundary of Massachusetts Bay.)

 ■ When traveling in NDZ waters, boaters with Type I or Type 
II MSDs must do one of the following.
• Close the seacock, and remove the handle.
• Fix the seacock in the closed position with a padlock or 

non-releasable wire tie.
• Lock the door to the space enclosing the toilet with a 

padlock or door handle key lock.
 ■ When traveling in NDZ waters, a Type III MSD (holding 

tank) must be secured in one of the following ways.
• Close each valve leading to an overboard discharge.
• Padlock each valve in the closed position.
• Use a non-releasable wire tie to hold each valve leading to 

an overboard discharge in the closed position.

All of these methods of securing MSDs while in NDZ waters 
are approved by the U.S. Coast Guard.

• Boaters with Type III MSDs can use any of the pump-out 
facilities located throughout the state. For the best service, 
boaters should call ahead to verify hours or to make 
an appointment for a pump-out. See www.mass.gov/eea/
agencies/czm/program-areas/coastal-water-quality/clean-boating/
pumpout-list.html. 
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Please Pump Out
 ■ Boaters can help reduce water 

pollution by pumping out their 
sewage. Pump-out stations provide 
wet vacuums that draw sewage out 
of a boat’s holding tanks for proper 
disposal. 

 ■ All Massachusetts waters are designated as “no discharge zones” 
for vessel sewage, so pump-out stations allow boaters to comply 
with the federal and state laws, which prohibit the discharge of 
sewage, whether treated or not, in Massachusetts coastal waters.

 ■ With the assistance of federal and state funding, the 
number of pump-out stations (and pump-out boats) has 
increased significantly. Boaters have responded by using 
them, which already has improved coastal water quality.

 ■ Pump-out stations also are available throughout the 
Massachusetts no discharge zones (NDZs). 

 ■ Use the pump-out stations to keep sewage out of our 
fishing and swimming areas.

 ■ For more information, see www.mass.gov/czm/ndz or call 
617-626-1200.
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Discharge of Trash
 ■ It is illegal to dump refuse, garbage, or plastics into any state 

or federally controlled waters. 
 ■ You must store trash in a container while on board, and 

place it in a proper receptacle after returning to shore. 
 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel 

is 26 feet or longer, you must display, in a prominent 
location, a durable Garbage Disposal Placard (sign) that 
is at least 4 x 9 inches. It must notify passengers and crew 
about the discharge restrictions of the Marine Pollution Act 
(MARPOL). 

MASSACHUSETTS GENERAL LAW
Chapter 270

CRIMES AGAINST PUBLIC HEALTH
(Selected Section)

Whoever places, throws, deposits, or discharges upon Massachusetts  
coastal or inland waters trash, bottles or cans, refuse, rubbish, garbage,  
debris, scrap, waste, or other material shall be punished by a fine of  
not more than $5,500 for the first offense and a fine not to exceed  
$15,000 for each subsequent offense.
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Help Keep Massachusetts Waters Clean
Boaters in Massachusetts have a role to play in preserving the 
aquatic environment. 

 ■ To help keep our waters clean:
• Make it a policy on your vessel that nothing goes 

overboard. If you had room to bring it, there’s room to 
take it back!

• Take reusable containers, and recycle your paper, cans, 
and bottles whenever possible.

• Encourage your marina to establish recycling facilities 
and pump-out stations.

• Avoid products that remove stains or make your boat 
shine—they can be very toxic.

• Use or request that your boatyard use the least 
damaging bottom paints available.

 ■ For more information, contact Massachusetts Coastal 
Zone Management at 617-626-1200.

www.mass.gov/czm/ndz
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Discharge of Oil and Other Hazardous 
Substances

 ■ You are not allowed to discharge oil or hazardous substances 
into the water.

 ■ You are not allowed to dump oil into the bilge of the vessel 
without means for proper disposal. 

 ■ You must dispose 
of oil waste at an 
approved reception 
facility. On recre-
ational vessels, a 
bucket or bailer 
is adequate for 
temporary storage 
prior to disposing of the oil waste at an approved facility.

 ■ If boating on federally controlled waters and your vessel 
is 26 feet or longer, you must display a 5 x 8-inch placard 
made of durable material, fixed in a conspicuous place in 
the machinery spaces or at the bilge pump control station, 
stating the Federal Water Pollution Control Act’s law.

If your vessel discharges oil or hazardous  
substance(s) into the water:

 ■ Immediately call the National Response Center 
 at 1-800-424-8802. 

 ■ Also notify the Massachusetts Department of 
Environmental Protection at 1-888-304-1133.
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Hazardous Substances and the Boater
No paint or varnish product is environmentally safe, and all 
are toxic to both humans and marine life. When cleaning or 
painting your vessel, it’s important to protect the water.

 ■ Minimize your use of toxic materials while the vessel is in 
the water. Use biodegradable and non-phosphate products 
whenever possible.

 ■ Use an absorbent sponge in your bilge to soak up oil. 
Have oil absorbent pads or rags on hand in case of a spill. 
When changing engine oil, wipe up any spills so that the 
oil isn’t pumped overboard with the bilge water.

 ■ Use a suspended tarp to catch spills, paint scrapings, or 
debris that would end up in the water.

 ■ Inspect your fuel lines periodically. Replace bad ones with 
USCG–approved Type A, alcohol-resistant fuel line hoses.

 ■ Dispose of old antifreeze and oil on shore in a recycling 
container.

 ■ Antifouling paint is used to prevent the growth of 
organisms on vessel bottoms. Some antifouling paints 
use tributyltin, which has been found to cause abnormal 
development and reduced reproduction in marine life. 
Instead use a “non-fouling” paint (silicon or teflon based) 
or a non-abative (copper based) antifouling paint.
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Protect Marine 
Mammals
All whales, dolphins, and 
porpoises in the northeast 
region are federally protected 
by the Marine Mammal 
Protection Act, and most 
large whales in the area are 
further protected under the Endangered Species Act. Under 
these laws, it is illegal to “harass, hunt, capture, or kill” any 
marine mammal. Prohibited conduct includes any “negligent 
or intentional act that results in the disturbing or molesting of 
marine mammals.” Violations of these laws may result in fines of 
up to $50,000, imprisonment, and/or seizure of one’s vessel. 

Boating Near Whales
Various species of whales, 
including the humpback, 
finback, right, and minke, 
may be encountered in our 
state’s coastal waters. The 
North Atlantic right whale 
is the most endangered 

marine mammal, with no more than 500 remaining in the 
world. Boaters maneuvering around whales improperly risk the 
safety of all passengers on board, as well as potential injury to 
the whales.
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To protect whales in their habitat, the following operation 
guidelines are recommended.

 ■ Avoid excessive speed or course changes within 500 yards of 
whales.

 ■ Do not approach within 500 yards of North Atlantic right 
whales.

 ■ Approach with extreme caution within 100 yards of any 
species of whales other than North Atlantic right whales. 

 ■ Approach whales from the side—not head-on—and don’t 
box them in.

 ■ Don’t cut off their path. 
 ■ Don’t separate mothers from offspring. 
 ■ If a whale approaches within 100 feet of your vessel, put 

your engine in neutral. Do not reengage your engine until 
the whale is observed on the surface, outside of the 100-foot 
zone.

 ■ If you sight one whale, expect 
to see more whales in the 
immediate vicinity.

Whale Disentanglement
 ■ If you observe a whale 

entangled in fishing gear or 
other man-made material, do not attempt to disentangle 
it. Contact the U.S. Coast Guard or the Massachusetts 
Environmental Police on VHF radio channel 16, or 
call the Large Whale Disentanglement Network at 
1-800-900-3622. 

 ■ For further information on the protection of marine 
mammals, visit the websites of the Center for Coastal 
Studies at www.coastalstudies.org or the National Marine 
Fisheries Service at www.nmfs.noaa.gov.

http://www.coastalstudies.org
http://www.nmfs.noaa.gov
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Invasive Species
What Are They?
Invasive species are plants or animals, either indigenous to this 
region (native) or from other regions (non-native or exotic), that 
have the ability to dominate or alter an ecosystem. Most exotic 
species originally arrived in ballast water or were intentionally or 
accidentally released from aquariums. Invasive species often are 
spread by remaining on boat trailers, propellers, and fishing gear, 
or in a bait bucket, cooling water, and live well water.

Why Are They Harmful?
 ■ Interference with boating and fishing: Many invasive 

plants grow rapidly in our lakes. The dense mats of vegeta-
tion they form can restrict or entirely prevent boating and 
fishing and may make the waterway entirely impassable. 

 ■ Loss of native plants and animals: Non-native plants 
often do not provide ideal habitat or food for fish and other 
aquatic animals. These plants crowd out native vegetation, 
and the fish and animals that depend on native vegetation 
must relocate or perish. 

 ■ Loss of biodiversity: The spread of invasive species often 
reduces the biological diversity of the area and can disrupt 
the balance of the ecosystem.

FanwortVariable MilfoilEurasian Milfoil
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 ■ Loss of property value: The aesthetic appeal, recreational 
value, and surrounding property values of a lake may decline 
quickly as an invasive species takes over.

 ■ Expensive: Once exotic plants are established, they are 
almost impossible to eradicate and are expensive to control. 
The United States invests millions of dollars annually to 
manage these plants and repair the damage.

CLEAN—DRAIN—DRY
 ■ Remove all plant parts, animals, mud, and other debris from 

your boat motor, trailer, anchors, fishing gear, and dive gear. 
Dispose of plant and animal matter, mud, and other debris 
above the waterline on dry land or in a trash can.

 ■ Pull all drain plugs and allow any standing water to drain 
completely; dispose of live well, bait, and cooling water away 
from the shore before leaving the area.

 ■ Never release a plant or animal into a body of water unless it 
came out of that body of water. 

 ■ Wash your boat (see the Cleaning Solutions chart), and allow 
it to dry completely before entering another body of water. 
• Your boat and equipment should be allowed to dry 

completely for: 
 - 1 week during July and August 
 - 2 weeks during June and September 
 - 4 weeks from October to May

• Increase drying times if the weather is unseasonably cool 
or wet. 

• If your boat is exposed to freezing temperatures, it is 
considered decontaminated.

 ■ Familiarize yourself with invasive species by requesting one 
of our free color guides to invasive aquatic plants, and spread 
the word to others about invasive species.
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 ■ Get involved. Request a free “Stop the Spread” sign for your 
boat ramp, or join a weed-monitoring group to identify and 
eradicate new infestations in your lake before they become 
permanently established.

 ■ Be alert for zebra mussels. They are now established in some 
Massachusetts waters. They are also found throughout New 
York, Vermont, and Connecticut. Zebra mussels can destroy 
dive gear, boat motors, and other engines. Please report any 
sighting or possible infestation.

Invasive species create problems for 
boaters. Zebra mussels can attach in 
clusters on motors, and hydrilla can 
get tangled in propellers.

For more information on invasive species 
or to report an infestation, contact the 
MA Department of Conservation & Recreation 

Lakes & Ponds Program 
617-626-1250  www.mass.gov/lakesandponds

Cleaning Solutions

Disinfectant Concentration Contact Time
Steam/scalding hot 
wash

>140°F 10 seconds

Chlorine/bleach 
solution

1 oz. per gallon 
water

10 minutes

Lysol 1% solution 10 minutes
Vinegar as sold—100% 20 minutes
Freezing <32°F 24 hours



 79

1. Vessels documented by the U.S. Coast Guard are exempt from Massachusetts registration and 
titling requirements.

2. Required if operator is 12 through 15 years of age. Required for PWC operators 16 or 17 years of 
age. Those under 16 years of age cannot operate a PWC in Massachusetts.

3. Those on personal watercraft must wear a PFD (personal flotation device) at all times. Children 
under 12 years of age are required to wear U.S. Coast Guard–approved PFDs in Massachusetts 
State when above deck on any vessel that is underway. Type V PFD use authorized for those on 
PWCs and children less than 12 years of age.

4. A fixed extinguishing system in machinery space can be substituted for one B-I. One B-II can 
replace two B-I extinguishers. Outboard motorboats less than 26', of open construction, not 
carrying passengers for hire, and not on federally controlled waters are not required to carry fire 
extinguishers. 

5. Required on all gasoline engines except outboard engines.
6. Vessels 26 feet up to 65 feet are required to carry on board a whistle or horn, and a bell.
7. VDSs are required only on coastal waters. Coastal waters are defined on page 49.
8. Vessels without proper navigation lights may not operate between the hours of sunset and sunrise.
9. PWCs are exempt. Vessels less than 16 ft. also must carry a paddle or oar.
10. All persons on board a canoe or kayak from September 15 to May 15 must wear a USCG–

approved Type I, II, or III PFD at all times.
11. Ladder, steps, platform, or similar device is required if towing a person on skis or other device.
12. PWCs may not be operated between sunset and sunrise. PWCs may not be used to tow anyone.
13. Applies to MA coastal waters only. 
14. At least one lantern or flashlight.

Required Equipment Checklist

white boat >

Boats Less 
Than 16' & 

PWCs  
Class A 12

Boats 16' to 
Less Than 
26' Class 1

Boats 26' to 
Less Than 

40' 
Class 2

Boats 40' to 
Less Than 

65' 
Class 3

Non- 
Motorized: 
Any Length

Vessel Registration on Board 1 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a

Validation Decal Displayed 1 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a

Registration Numbers 1 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a

Boating Safety Certificate 2 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a
Wearable PFDs: Type I, II, or III 

(one per person)  ✓3  ✓3  ✓3  ✓3  ✓10

Throwable PFD: Type IV  ✓9 ✓ ✓ ✓
Fire Extinguisher(s) 4 1 B-I 1 B-I 2 B-I or  

1 B-II 3 B-I n/a

Backfire Flame Arrestor 5 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Ventilation System ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓

Muffler ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Horn, Whistle, or Bell ✓ ✓  ✓6  ✓6  ✓13

Daytime Visual Distress Signals  ✓ ✓ ✓
Nighttime Visual Distress 

Signals 7 ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓ ✓
Navigation Lights 8  ✓12 ✓ ✓ ✓ 13, 14

Anchor, Line, and Manual Bailer  ✓9 ✓ ✓ ✓
Boarding Ladder 11  ✓12 ✓ ✓ ✓ n/a



Boaters’ Telephone Directory

Massachusetts Environmental Police
Central Headquarters, Boston ............................. 617-626-1650
Radio Communications, Boston .................... 1-800-632-8075
Boat & RV Safety Bureau .................................... 508-564-4961
Registration & Titling Bureau, Boston ................ 617-626-1610
Coastal Enforcement HQ, Hingham ................... 781-740-1163
Inland Enforcement HQ, Westboro .................... 508-366-6537
Environmental Crimes Bureau ............................ 617-727-2200
Marine Theft Bureau ........................................... 617-626-1666

Department of Fish and Game .........................617-626-1500
Public Access Board ..............................................617-727-1843
Division of Marine Fisheries .................................617-626-1520
Division of Fisheries & Wildlife ...........................508-389-6300

Other Agencies
United States Coast Guard
   Vessel Documentation Center........................ 1-800-799-8362
   Oil Spill Hotline ............................................ 1-800-424-8802
National Safe Boating Council .............................703-361-4294
National Weather Service ......................................508-822-0634
MA Department of Revenue ............................ 1-800-392-6089
MA Department of  
Environmental Protection ................................. 1-888-304-1133
MA Coastal Zone Management  
(Pump-Out Stations) ............................................617-626-1200



Central Headquarters 
251 Causeway Street,  
1st Floor 
Boston, MA 02114 
617-626-1650 
Fax: 617-626-1670

Specialized Bureaus 
Boat & R.V. Safety Bureau 
P.O. Box 1325 
Forestdale, MA 02644 
508-564-4961 
Fax: 508-564-4964

Environmental Crimes Bureau 
1 Ashburton Place 
Boston, MA 02133 
617-727-2200 
Fax: 617-727-5755

Enforcement 
Radio Communications 
Center 
251 Causeway Street 
Boston, MA 0211 
1-800-632-8075 
617-626-1665 
Fax: 617-626-1670

Coastal Bureau 
30 Shipyard Drive 
Bldg. #45 
Hingham, MA 02043 
781-740-1163 
Fax: 781-740-4113

Inland Bureau 
183 Milk Street 
Westboro, MA 01581 
508-366-6537 
Fax: 508-366-1182

Boat & R.V. Registration 
and Titling Bureau 
Main Office – Boston 

Registration 
251 Causeway Street 
Boston, MA 02114 
617-626-1610 
Fax: 617-626-1630

Cape Cod & Islands 
60 Perseverance Way 
Hyannis, MA 02602 
508-771-8382

Southeast 
218 S. Main Street 
Fall River, MA 02721 
508-679-8287

Central 
67 Millbrook Street 
Worcester, MA 01605 
508-753-0603

West 
STCC Technology Park 
1 Federal Street, Bldg. 101 
Springfield, MA 01105 
413-733-1642

MASSACHUSETTS 
ENVIRONMENTAL POLICE

DIRECTORY

Public Access to the  
Waters of Massachusetts

Public Access to the Waters of 
Massachusetts is a full-color publica-
tion that includes 90 individual site 
maps and descriptions of more than 
200 access points to state waterways. 
The 150-page guide also includes 
information about sportfishing piers, 
fishing in fresh and marine waters, 
boating law, rights of access, and 
boating and fishing programs in the 
Department of Fish and Game.

Copies of Public Access to the Waters 
of Massachusetts may be purchased 
in person for $5.00 each from the 
Office of Fishing and Boating Access 
in Westboro during business hours or 
may be ordered by mail by sending a 

check or money order for $8.00 per 
book payable to the Commonwealth 
of Massachusetts, along with the 
address to which the book(s) is to be 
shipped, to the Office of Fishing and 
Boating Access, 1 Rabbit Hill Road, 
Westboro, MA 
01581. Call the 
FBA office at 
508-389-7810 
if you need 
additional 
information.



 An Agency of the Executive Office of  

Energy and Environmental Affairs

Find out more about 

boater safety, and 

register boats and 

recreational vehi-

cles online. See our 

webpage of frequently 

asked questions, or 

call the Boat & R.V. 

Safety Bureau at: 

508-564-4961

For Boating 

INFORMATION

251 Causeway st. • Boston, Ma 02114 • 617-626-1650

Visit the Massachusetts

Environmental Police Website  

at  www.mass.gov/ole
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